Facebook has been known for a long time to take, store and sell your data and allows you to permanently re-evaluate how the social network manages your privacy. That you want to take a break or completely delete your Facebook account, here’s how.
What’s the Difference Between Deactivation and Deletion?
There are only two ways for you to remove your presence from Facebook. You can deactivate your account or delete it completely. The first allows you to return and reactivate your account, while the last is a permanent option – no longer exists.
Disabling your account is useful for when you want to hide for a while with the ability to return online without having to set up a new account. While disabled, no one can see your profile, but your name might still appear on your friends list. Besides all that, you can still use Facebook messenger when your account is disabled, which allows you to stay connected.
Deleting your account is permanent. When you select this option, you will not be able to reactivate your account. All posts, photos, videos, and all related to your account are removed forever. With additionally unable to use Facebook Messenger, you will not be able to use the Facebook login feature that you might use on third-party applications or websites to register.
Some information, such as messages that you send friends and copies of messages in their inbox, are still visible by them after you delete your account.
How to Deactivate Your Facebook Account
If you are not ready enough to delete your Facebook account at all but want to rest from social media, you can deactivate your account.
Apply your Facebook website on your computer, click on the arrow facing down in the upper right corner of the screen, then select “Settings” from the list.
Next, from the panel on the left, click “Your Facebook Information” and then select “Disabling and deleting” from the option list.
Select the button next to “Disable Account” and then click the “Continue to Disable Account” button to continue.
On the next page, you must give a reason to leave Facebook. Choose from the Options list, provide further explanation – if necessary-opt-out from future email, and select whether to continue using Messenger. After filling out this form, click the “Disable” button.
One last warning will appear. Read the message and click “Disable Now” when you are ready to continue.
There she is. Facebook will sign you and will refund you to the “Enter Facebook” page.
When you are ready to reactivate your account, all you have to do is go back to Facebook. Or, you can reactivate it using the Facebook login feature on another application or website.
How to Perminately Delete Your Facebook Account
Before you continue and delete your Facebook account from existence, you might want to back up your information from the company’s server. Facebook has a tool to help you download all your data in one zip file that can be managed.
You can download your information from the “Facebook Information” page in the settings.
Can I cancel my account deletion?
If it’s less than 30 days since you initiated deletion, you can cancel the removal of your account. After 30 days, your account and all your information will be permanently deleted, and you will not be able to retrieve your information.
It may take up to 90 days from the beginning of the removal process to delete all the things you post. While we delete this information, it cannot be accessed by others using Facebook.
Copies of your information can remain after 90 days in the backup storage that we use to restore if a disaster occurs, software errors, or other data loss events. We can also store your information for things like legal problems, violations of requirements, or efforts to prevent damage. Learn more about our data policy. To cancel the deletion of your account:
• Enter your Facebook account within 30 days after deleting your account.
• Click Cancel Removal.